Weezer’s The Red Album and tracklist

weezerredalbum.jpgThe Weez are gearing up for the promotion of the 6/24 release of their self-titled album on Geffen. We’ve liked the first single “Pork and Beans” despite the stupid chorus and it’s always a welcome return when Rivers and the gang return to monochromatic album titles.

Still, this album art work almost seems like a joke, right? It’s very Village People 2.0-esque (K-Fed, The Ivy League Graduate, The Cowpoke, James Hetfield) and that’s never a good thing when that is your first association with the record. Anyway, there’s a press release, but this is the most interesting part:

“Great albums are culminations of the past with an eye to the future, and the Red Album has parts ?Blue Album,? ?Pinkerton,? and forges new territory with all four members taking turns singing lead. The ?Red Album? is the rarest of modern music combinations: being both immediate and having the quality of growing better upon each subsequent listen.”

Also, no more traditional primary colors to draw from for album titles, after they used “The Blue Album” and “The Green Album.” However, may we sugest using the printing primary colors as a possibility. Just imagine: “The Cyan Album,” “The Magenta Album” or “The Yellow Album.”


01 “Troublemaker”
02 “The Greatest Man That Ever Lived (Variations on a Shaker Hymn)”
03 “Pork and Beans”
04 “Heart Songs”
05 “Everybody Get Dangerous”
06 “Dreamin'”
07 “Thought I Knew”
08 “Cold Dark World”
09 “Automatic”
10 “The Angel and the One”

Bonus tracks for the Deluxe Edition:

11 “Miss Sweeney”
12 “Pig”
13 “The Spider”
14 “King”

Comments on this entry are closed.