Gorillaz’s Plastic Beach Trailer

I’m not really sure what the point of a trailer for either an LP or a book is, but in the case of the new Gorillaz album, Plastic Beach, (out March 9th) which again features Damon Albarn as the main music man and artwork from Jamie Hewett. 

Only this time the album is chalk full of weird cameos, including Snoop Dogg, De La Soul, Lou Reed, the Fall’s Mark E. Smith, Gruff Rhys and the Clash’s Mick Jones and Paul Simonon.  R&B crooner Billy Womack shows up on the first single (already leaked) “Stylo” along with Mos Def.

Perhaps more interesting is that Mos Def doesn’t just have a cameo but he’s also been made a part of the animated band as the character “Sun Moon Stars.”

Plastic Beach

1. “Orchestral Intro”
2. “Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach” (feat. Snoop Dogg and Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
3. “White Flag” (feat. Kano Bashy)
4. “Rhinestone Eyes”
5. “Stylo” (feat. Bobby Womack and Mos Def)
6. “Superfast Jellyfish” (feat. Gruff Rhys and De La Soul)
7. “Empire Ants” (feat. Little Dragon)
8. “Glitter Freeze” (feat. Mark E Smith)
9. “Some Kind Of Nature” (feat. Lou Reed)
10. “On Melancholy Hill”
11. “Broken”
12. “Sweepstakes” (feat. Mos Def Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
13. “Plastic Beach” (feat. Mick Jones Paul Simonon)
14. “To Binge” (feat. Little Dragon)
15. “Cloud Of Unknowing” (feat. Bobby Womack)
16. “Pirate Jet”

Comments on this entry are closed.