New John Coltrane Tracks Discovered

Three unreleased John Coltrane songs will be made available in April on First Impulse: The Creed Taylor Collection ($65, Impulse/Universal), a four-CD set that celebrates the 50th anniversary of Impulse Records.

The three tracks were originally recorded in a demo session sometime in early 1961 for Africa/Brass, Coltrane’s Impulse debut. Trumpeter Cal Massey conducted the session. He was a longtime friend of Coltrane’s, and the tapes had been in the possession of his son Zane Massey. The three performances include the standard “Laura” and two original compositions by Massey: “The Damned Don’t Cry” (later recorded at the Africa/Brass sessions) and “Nakatini Serenade,” a slower version than the one Coltrane recorded for Prestige in 1958.

[via downbeat]

Comments on this entry are closed.