Connecticut Gets Pluto’d From New England

Most people consider New England to be made up of six states: Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, Rhode Island and Connecticut.  But not Discover New England — the official tourism site for the region. In a curious move, they’ve axed the state from the region.

It’s not an official thing, but more retribution for Connecticut slashing their tourism marketing budget.  Still, “to add insult to injury, not only is The Nutmeg State gone, its space on the map has become a place card for abutting Rhode Island,” writes Mary Ellen Fillo.  Ooof!

Oddly though this might not be a bad thing for the state.  Everyone knows that the state is divided between those that identify with New England and those that identify with New York City, or at least when it comes to identifying as a Sox or Yankees fan. [via mefi]

Comments on this entry are closed.